Loading

Preliminary 2019 Halibut Season Dates

Published: January 10, 2019

The Washington State Department of Fish & Wildlife has released the preliminary dates for the 2019 Halibut SeasonĀ for the Strait of Juan de Fuca and Puget Sound. The dates are:

  • Thursday, May 2
  • Saturday, May 4
  • Thursday, May 9
  • Saturday, May 11
  • Saturday, May 18
  • Friday, May 24
  • Sunday, May 26
  • Thursday, June 6
  • Saturday, June 8
  • Thursday, June 20
  • Saturday, June 22

The daily catch limit is one halibut per person with no minimum size restriction. There is a four fish annual bag limit. Anglers in Area 5, which includes Clallam Bay & Sekiu, are allowed to retain lingcod and Pacific cod caught while fishing for halibut in waters deeper than 120 feet. This is only on days when both halibut and lingcod fishing are open.

These dates and rules are preliminary and are subject to change.